You may see a new flag flying in town. Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock MP Jamie Schmale recently made the rounds to hand out a Canada 150 flag to the seven municipalities in the riding.

Schmale says it’s important to him that the municipalities can raise the flag, as a symbol of national celebration and to recognize the historical significance of 2017. He says the anniversary is a one-of-a-kind opportunity for everyone to come together and honour our communities, diversity, and country.

The Canada 150 flag is diamonds in the shape of a maple leaf. The four diamonds at the base represent the four original provinces, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. Additional gems extend out in nine more points, in total representing the 13 provinces and territories.