Listen Live
HomeNewsNew Interim Chair Appointed to HKPR Board of Health

New Interim Chair Appointed to HKPR Board of Health

PORT HOPE, ON – The Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge, District Health Unit has appointed David Marshall as the Interim Chairperson to its Board of Health effective immediately.

Doug Elmslie is a municipal representative for the City of Kawartha Lakes and a long-time member of the Board of Health and Chairperson since September 2019.  With the upcoming municipal elections in October, Board of Health members who are also elected municipal officials will see their term on the Board of Health cease after November 10. The Board of Health felt it was necessary to appoint a new chair to ensure good governance post-election.


Marshall was originally appointed to the Board of Health for the health unit in 2021 by the Lieutenant Governor through a recommendation by the Minister of Health when he applied to the Public Appointments Secretariat.  As a Provincial Appointee, Mr. Marshall is not impacted by municipal elections; therefore, he will remain a board member.

“I want to thank Mr. Marshall for taking on this new role as interim chair. I am confident his expertise and experience will continue to be an asset in carrying out the important work of the Board of Health,” said Dr. Natalie Bocking, Medical Officer of Health, and Chief Executive Officer for the health unit.

New Board of Health members will not be appointed until mid-December and will not officially meet until January 19, 2023.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading